Councillors and MEPs

The Conservative Party is well represented on both North Devon District Council and Devon County Council.

To see a list of all of North Devons councillors and find all their contact details, please follow these links:

North Devon District Council members

Devon County Council members

The Conservatives have one Members of the European Parliament in the South-West region, which includes North Devon.

Use these links to go to their individual pages:

Ashley Fox MEP

Ashley was first elected to the European Parliament to represent the South West of England & Gibraltar in 2009. As a British Conservative he is a member of the European Conservatives and Reformists Group (ECR) where he served as Chief Whip from 2010 – 2014. Ashley was elected as Leader of the Conservative MEPs in November 2014.

Ashley is a member of the Industry, Research & Energy Committee and the Economic & Monetary Affairs Committee in the European Parliament. He is also the leading British campaigner seeking to scrap the wasteful ‘Strasbourg Circus’ – which costs taxpayers €156m every year.

Educated at The King's School, Worcester, Ashley studied law at Bristol Polytechnic before working for a year as an English assistant in France. He took his solicitors’ finals at Chester College of Law. After completing his articles, he qualified as a Solicitor in 1994. Before being elected as a MEP Ashley worked for 15 years as a Solicitor in Bristol, specialising in Insurance Litigation. 

From 1998 -2000 Ashley was Chairman of Bristol West Conservative Association. He stood as the Conservative candidate for Bath at the General Election in 2001. In 2002 he was elected as Councillor for Westbury-on-Trym on Bristol City Council, a position he held for 8 years.

Ashley lives in Bristol with his wife and two children.